Visit our Business Solutions website >>

Velocity Micro Edge Z55 (Summer 2013)

Velocity Micro Edge Z55 (Summer 2013)
alaScore 89

21 reviews

Nov, 2017

alaTest has collected and analyzed 21 reviews of Velocity Micro Edge Z55 (Summer 2013). The average rating for this product is 3.2/5, compared to an average rating of 4.2/5 for other Desktops for all reviews. People really like the usability. The price is also mentioned favorably. There are mixed reviews on the reliability and size.

price, usability

We analyzed user and expert ratings, product age and more factors. Compared to other Desktops the Velocity Micro Edge Z55 (Summer 2013) is awarded an overall alaScore™ of 89/100 = Very good quality.

Review analysis

(Based on 21 reviews)

Expert Reviews  

User Reviews  

Showing 21 review(s)

Expert Reviews User Reviews

Disclaimer:

Below is a list of reviews for this or similar products. If you think this grouping is wrong please click here to flag.
Read more on our FAQ’s page.
Showing 1 - 10 of 21 Show Reviews: in English

Editor's Choice

Expert review by: Joel Santo Domingo (pcmag.com)

Velocity Micro Edge Z55 (2014)

 

The Velocity Micro Edge Z55 blows away the competition on five of our six 3D gaming tests, and costs $3,000 less than our last Editors' Choice high-end desktop for gamers.

Compact chassis can accommodate two full-size, double-wide graphics cards. Dual Nvidia GeForce GTX 780 Ti graphics. 4.7GHz overclocked CPU. 1000-watt PSU. Easy-to-open chassis. Stardock Start8 preinstalled.

Utilitarian design may not appeal to high-end gaming PC geeks. PCIe slots filled or blocked.

The Velocity Micro Edge Z55 looks almost utilitarian next to the flashy gaming PCs from other boutique manufacturers. But all the money Velocity Micro saved on flash is passed on to you. This $4,299 system is competitive in all the ways that matter...

Aug, 2014

Expert review by: Brian Westover (pcmag.com)

Velocity Micro Edge Z55 (Summer 2013)

 

The Velocity Micro Edge Z55 isn't the flashiest gaming desktop, but it combines top components, like a fourth-gen Intel Core i7 processor and Nvidia GeForce GTX 780 GPU, with a healthy feature set for excellent performance and value.

New Haswell processor and Nvidia graphics. Lots of room for maintenance and upgrades.

Plain looking case.

The Velocity Micro Edge Z55 offers a solid mid-range gaming desktop that packs in a lot of features—a Blu-ray drive, 2TB hard drive, Wi-Fi and Bluetooth—on top of the a fourth-generation Intel Core i7 processor and a shiny new Nvidia graphics card....

Aug, 2013

Expert review by: (cnet.com)

Velocity Micro Edge Z55 Core i7-2700K, February 2012

 

Velocity Micro hasn't updated its desktops' exterior design in years, but I can't say there's anything particularly wrong with it. The square angles and vented front panel might seem plain-looking, but I'd take Velocity's unobtrusive design over the...

The Velocity Micro Edge Z55 offers some of the best bang for the buck I've seen in an upper midrange gaming desktop.

I wouldn't call this desktop overly quiet.

The Velocity Micro Edge Z55 is a laser-focused gaming PC with a relatively attainable price, and it's an easy system to recommend to enthusiasts.

Apr, 2012

Editor's Choice

Expert review by: Rich Brown (cnet.com)

Velocity Micro Edge Z55 (February 2012) review

 

Last year I fell for the Digital Storm ODE Level 3 , an upper midrange gaming PC that still impresses on our performance charts. As much as I still like that system, Velocity Micro's Edge Z55 is my new gaming PC of choice. It's possible this Core...

The Velocity Micro Edge Z55 offers some of the best bang for the buck I've seen in an upper midrange gaming desktop.

I wouldn't call this desktop overly quiet.

The Velocity Micro Edge Z55 is a laser-focused gaming PC with a relatively attainable price, and it's an easy system to recommend to enthusiasts.

Apr, 2012

Expert review by: Joel Santo Domingo (pcmag.com)

Velocity Micro Edge Z55

 

The Velocity Micro Edge Z55 is a professional-grade gaming PC that bridges the difference between the cheap and the obscenely expensive.

Speedy gaming and multimedia performance. Expandability. Attractive styling and neat interior. No crapware. Blu-ray reader.

At lower resolutions, it performs not much better than a $1,200 gaming system. A little loud. Nearly $4,000 is a lot of money.

More Desktop Reviews: • Acer Aspire Z3 (AZ3-715-UR15)• Origin Neuron• Dell OptiPlex 7450 All-in-One• Microsoft Surface Studio• Corsair One Pro• more

Jan, 2009

Expert review by: (cnet.com)

Velocity Micro Edge Z55 Intel Core i7-920

 

Velocity Micro's case is an exercise in sturdy minimalism. You get no removable hard-drive trays or flashy front panel access doors, but in exchange, you get clean exterior lines, an expertly wired interior, and at least semitasteful blue LED lighting....

Fast overclocked Intel Core i7 processor; ample memory and graphics card power; provides enough performance to justify its upper midrange price.

Uses two graphics cards when a single, dual-chip card would have done the same work and allowed more room for upgrades.

Velocity Micro's Edge Z55 provides a powerful example of the leap ahead in performance afforded by Intel's new Core i7 CPUs. Velocity Micro's own overclocking efforts don't hurt either. Any PC gamer would love to make this upper midrange desktop their...

Nov, 2008

Expert review by: Brian Westover (itreviews.co.uk)

Velocity Micro Edge Z55 (Summer 2013)

 

The Velocity Micro Edge Z55 isn't the flashiest gaming desktop, but it combines top components, like a fourth-generation Intel Core i7 processor and Nvidia GeForce GTX 780 GPU, with a healthy feature set for excellent performance and value.

Aug, 2013

Consumer review by: short9000 (cnet.com)

"Major overkill and over-priced"

 

If you build your own computer you can save yourself 1000 dollars and get better parts. I just recently built a new computer that will out-perform this by miles. Point being this computer sucks and you can really save yourself money.

Had to have ten characters....

Way too far over clocked for an 2nd gen i7. No need for two 100 dollar graphics card when one 200 dollar will out perform it. The price is way too high.

May, 2013

Consumer review by: urbanhiker (cnet.com)

"Very poor customer service"

 

Would never recommend, not worth the money. Regret purchase, not sure why CNET recommended this. Would return this for money back if I could.

Parts were well assembled.

No updates were done, parts not specified in build were cheap, loud and broke constantly. Customer service was ridiculously poor. I have the logs to prove it. Replacement parts were never sent.

Mar, 2013

Consumer review by: urbanhiker (cnet.com)

Very poor customer service

 

Would never recommend, not worth the money. Regret purchase, not sure why CNET recommended this. Would return this for money back if I could.

Parts were well assembled.

No updates were done, parts not specified in build were cheap, loud and broke constantly. Customer service was ridiculously poor. I have the logs to prove it. Replacement parts were never sent.

Mar, 2013